Awards and Patents

Award Type
Award Type Title Recipient(s) Award Year / Patent Issue Date
internal Education and Outreach Award Marcia Politovich and Ben Bernstein 2001
internal Outstanding Publication Award David Yates, Jack Sieber and Annette Huber-Lee (Stockholm Environment Institute), David Purkey (National Heritage Institute), and Hector Galbraith (Galbraith Environmental Services) 2008
internal Technical Support Award Jeff Cole (RAP) 1996
internal Warner Internship for Scientific Enrichment (WISE) Arianna Valmassoi 2018
external 2022 HPC Editor’s Choice Award Jeremy Sauer and Domingo Munoz Esparza 2022
external American Geophysical Union (AGU): Outstanding Reviewers Andrew Newman and Larry Cornman 2017
external Exceptional Early-Career Contribution to the Field of EcoHealth Micah Hahn 2014
internal Outstanding Publication Award Janice Coen (RAL and MMM). Co-nominees and co-authors included Shankar Mahalingam (University of California, Riverside) and John Daily (University of Colorado, Boulder).
external Top 50 Research Leaders of the Year, Scientific American Sharman, Robert and Cornman, Larry 2003
external AMS Fellow G. Brant Foote 1986
internal UCAR Mentoring Award Sue Ellen Haupt 2022
external AMS Fellow Matthias Steiner 2015
internal Halaby Fellowship Eulalia Hernandez Romero 2017
internal Outstanding Publication Award Larry Cornman, Corinne Morse, and Kent Goodrich (RAP). Co-nominee included Stephen Cohn (ATD now EOL). Co-authors included Warner Ecklund (Boulder, CO), Stephen Cohn (ATD now EOL), Eli Karplus (NCAR), Steven W. Mueller (RAP), and R. Andrew Weekley (RAP).
external U.S. Government Technology Leadership Award Finalist Aviation Digital Data Service (ADDS) 2000
external AMS Fellow James Wilson 2000
external UCAR Outstanding Publication Domingo Muñoz-Esparza, Jeremy Sauer, and Branko Kosović 2022
external AMS Fellow Roberts, Rita 2009
external Latina Leader Award in the Category of Science, Congressional Hispanic Caucus Institute Romero-Lankao Paty 2008
internal Outstanding Publication Award James Wilson and Daniel Megenhardt 1999
external WMA Distinguished Service Award Axisa, Duncan 2010
external Aviation Industry Award - Weather, Aviation & Space Operations Weather Prize John McCarthy 2017
external AMS Fellow Politovich, Marcia 2003
internal Mentoring Award James Wilson (RAL/EOL) 2004
internal Outstanding Publication Award James Wilson, Brant Foote, Andrew Crooke, James Fankhauser, Charles Wade, John Tuttle, Cynthia Mueller, and Steven Krueger (RAP) 1995