Pressroom

Sunday, May 1, 2011 - 12:00am

May 1, 2011 - 11am

With the increasing awareness of global and regional climate change, water managers are rightly concerned about potential impact on water source in the western U.S., especially given recent studies...

Tuesday, April 12, 2011 - 6:00am

Map of upper Midwest with dark blue areas of potentially severe icing

FIP-Severity provides 12-hour icing forecasts to pilots and forecasters on the likelihood of encountering dangerous in-flight icing conditions.

Wednesday, April 6, 2011 - 6:00am

near Mexico City

Cities worldwide are failing to take necessary steps to protect their residents from the likely impacts of climate change.

Tuesday, February 15, 2011 - 5:00am

Tuesday, January 18, 2011 - 5:00am

Wednesday, November 24, 2010 - 5:00am

Tuesday, July 27, 2010 - 6:00am

Tuesday, February 9, 2010 - 5:00am

Visualization in green, blue and yellow of a hurricane against black

Background information on hurricanes, typhoons and cyclones, including frequently asked questions.

Wednesday, January 27, 2010 - 5:00am

An innovative computational technique that draws on statistics, imaging, and other disciplines has the capability to detect errors in sensitive technological systems ranging from satellites to weather instruments.

Monday, August 3, 2009 - 6:00am

Tuesday, July 7, 2009 - 6:00am

American Airlines Airbus. Wikipedia photo by Eheik

NCAR is developing a prototype system to provide aircraft with updates about severe storms and turbulence as they fly across remote ocean regions.

Tuesday, June 23, 2009 - 6:00am

Man walking on snowy city street

Close to 9 out of 10 adult Americans obtain weather forecasts regularly, and they do so more than three times each day on average, according to a new nationwide survey.

Wednesday, April 29, 2009 - 6:00am

Photograph of open car trunk showing scientif equipment

The system tested recently in the Detroit area will ultimately help protect drivers from surprises such as black ice, fog, and other hazardous weather conditions ahead.

Tuesday, April 21, 2009 - 6:00am

Monday, April 6, 2009 - 6:00am

Pages

About RAL

RAL's mission is to conduct directed research that contributes to the fundamental understanding of the atmosphere and related physical, biological, and social systems; to support, enhance, and extend the capabilities of the scientific community, and to develop and transfer knowledge and technology for the betterment of life on Earth.

I have a very strong feeling that science exists to serve human betterment and improve human welfare.       - Walter Orr Roberts

Stay Connected

Main Phone
303.497.8422
303.497.8401(fax)

Mailing Address
PO Box 3000
Boulder, CO 80307-3000

Email