Pressroom

Tuesday, December 20, 2011 - 12:00am

December 20, 2011 - 10:45am...

Tuesday, November 15, 2011 - 5:00am

Thursday, November 10, 2011 - 5:00am

Six wind turbines in a field, with stratocumulous in the background

The new system enables utility operators to constantly anticipate the amount of energy produced by wind farms across Xcel’s service area.

Wednesday, October 26, 2011 - 6:00am

Monday, August 1, 2011 - 12:00am

August 1, 2011 - 11:00am

RAL offers many different web sites where weather experts and the public alike can retrieve useful weather information.  Sites like the Aviation Digital Data Service  and RAL’s...

Tuesday, July 19, 2011 - 6:00am

Kim Agado

Lab: RAL | Job Title: Division Property Administrator | Years at NCAR: 4 | Fun Fact: Is a fan of Zumba, the Latin American dance fitness program

Friday, July 1, 2011 - 12:00am

July 1, 2011 - 11:00am

Those who work in the aviation sector require a large amount of information to route, plan, and make decisions about air traffic control, aircraft, and airport operations. The sheer amount of...

Thursday, June 30, 2011 - 6:00am

The inadvertent cloud-seeding effect occurs up to about 6 percent of the time at major airports.

Tuesday, June 21, 2011 - 6:00am

The economic impacts of routine weather events can add up to 3.4% of the nation's GDP.

Thursday, June 9, 2011 - 6:00am

Tuesday, June 7, 2011 - 6:00am

New research focusing on the Houston area suggests that widespread urban development alters weather patterns in a way that can make it easier for pollutants to accumulate during warm summer weather instead of being blown out to sea.

Sunday, May 1, 2011 - 12:00am

May 1, 2011 - 11:00am

With the increasing awareness of global and regional climate change, water managers are rightly concerned about potential impact on water source in the western U.S., especially given recent studies...

Tuesday, April 12, 2011 - 6:00am

Map of upper Midwest with dark blue areas of potentially severe icing

FIP-Severity provides 12-hour icing forecasts to pilots and forecasters on the likelihood of encountering dangerous in-flight icing conditions.

Wednesday, April 6, 2011 - 6:00am

near Mexico City

Cities worldwide are failing to take necessary steps to protect their residents from the likely impacts of climate change.

Tuesday, February 15, 2011 - 5:00am

Tuesday, January 18, 2011 - 5:00am

Pages

RAL's Mission

To conduct fundamental and use-inspired research that contributes to the understanding of the Earth system; extend the capabilities of the scientific community; and transfer knowledge and technology for the betterment of society.

I have a very strong feeling that science exists to serve human betterment and improve human welfare.       - Walter Orr Roberts

Stay Connected

Main Phone
303.497.8422
303.497.8401(fax)

Mailing Address
PO Box 3000
Boulder, CO 80307-3000

Email