South America

Welcome to the South America affinity group website. This group was established to accelerate research and discoveries focusing on the water and energy cycle of South America. This effort is led by NCAR's Water Systems program and the Hydrometeorological Applications Program (HAP) and fosters collaborations across NCAR and the international research community. NCAR's role in this project is the development of a high-resolution, convection-permitting modeling system for South America, that enables unprecedented insights into atmospheric and hydro-climatologic processes in South America. NCAR closely collaborates with university patterns in the U.S. and South America and supports international research activities such as ANDEX, which is a prospective GEWEX Regional Hydroclimate Project (RHP).

NCAR is organizing monthly meetings to foster collaborations on key research challenges in South America and to gather feedback on the project's progress and future direction. Agendas and recordings from past meetings can be found under the "Resources" tab.

This page contains meeting minutes and presentation records. The meetings are organized chronologically starting with the most recent on top.

August 20, 2020

Upcoming meeting

July 29, 2020

Agenda

  • Andy Newman
    GMET - Overview of the Gridded Meteorological Ensemble Tool 
  • Kristen Rasmussen
    Ingredients supporting the upscale growth of organized convection in subtropical South America
  • Changhai Liu and Kyoko Ikeda
    Update of WRF model performance over South America

Recording

Video recording

Recording of chat discussion

July 8, 2020

Agenda

Recording

Video recording

Audio recording

Recording of chat discussion

 

June 24, 2020

Agenda

 

Recordings

Video recording (not available)

Recording of chat discussion

 

May 13, 2020

Agenda

  • Roy Rasmussen - NCAR
    Welcome and introduction
  • Yazmina Rojas - University of Albany
    Assessment of GPM IMERG satellite precipitation estimation and its dependence on microphysical rain regimes, over the mountains of south-central Chile
  • Lucia Scaff - University of Saskatchewan
    Observational data availability
  • Kate Halladay - Met Office, Hadley Centre
    Convection-permitting climate simulations for CSSP Brazil
  • Changhai Liu - NCAR
    South America Simulations for Nov-Dec 2018: PBL Parameterizations & Spectral Nudging Testing

Recordings

Video recording

Recording of chat discussion

 List of active participants

 
Bacmeister, Julio juliob@ucar.edu
Bettolli,  María Laura  bettolli@at.fcen.uba.ar
Brasseur, Guy brasseur@ucar.edu
Callaghan, Patrick patc@ucar.edu
Chang, Hsin-I  hchang05@email.arizona.edu
Chen, Fei feichen@ucar.edu
Christopher, Castroclcastro@arizona.edu
Dai, Aiguo adai@albany.edu
Dominguez, Francina francina@illinois.edu
Dudhia, Jimy dudhia@ucar.edu
Fita, Lluis lluis.fita@cima.fcen.uba.ar
Gochis, David gochis@ucar.edu
Gutmann, Ethan gutmann@ucar.edu
Halladay, Kate kate.halladay@metoffice.gov.uk
Ikeda, Kyoko kyoko@ucar.edu
Kendon, Elizabeth elizabeth.kendon@metoffice.gov.uk
Kruse, Christopher ckruse@ucar.edu
Landolt, Scott landolt@ucar.edu
Liu, Changhai chliu@ucar.edu
Masiokas, Mariano mmasiokas@mendoza-conicet.gob.ar
Miguez, Gonzalo gonzalo.miguez@usc.es
Minder, Justin jminder@albany.edu
Molina, Maria molina@ucar.edu
Neale,Richard rneale@ucar.edu
Newman, Andrew anewman@ucar.edu
Otero Piersante, Jeremiah otero@rams.colostate.edu
Poveda, Germán gpoveda@unal.edu.co
Prein, Andreas prein@ucar.edu
Puhales, Francianofranciano.puhales@ufsm.br
Rasmussen, Kristen kristenr@rams.colostate.edu
Rasmussen, Roy rasmus@ucar.edu
Rene Garreaud
Rojas, Yazminayrojas@albany.edu
Scaff, Lucia lucia.scaff@usask.ca
Schneider, Timothy tls@ucar.edu
Solman, Silvinasolman@cima.fcen.uba.ar
Somos, Marcelo marcelo.somos@ufrontera.cl
Tessendorf, Sarah saraht@ucar.edu
Van Oevelen, Peter pvanoevelen@gewex.org
Vuille, Mathias mvuille@albany.edu
 
 
 

Observational Datasets in South America

Many of the regular precipitation and temperature observations in South America are operated by governmental institutions dedicated to water management and forecasting operations. We have gathered some of the publicly available data and combined them with the global datasets that are available in this region.

A summary of observations datasets in South America is published in Condom et al. (2020).

The following table summarizes observational datasets in South America. For further information contact Lucia Scaff (lucia.scaff@usask.ca) or Kyoko Ikeda (kyoko@ucar.edu).

datasourcecountrytypevariablesPeriodspatial
res.
temporal
res.
Data
Access*
Additional
Info
IANIGLA-
SSRH
ArgentinastationsPR
TMAX
TMIN
2010-2020*pointdailyLink 
INMETBrazilstationsPR
TMAX
TMIN
RH
DT
Pressure
Wind
radiation
2010-2018*pointhourlyLinkLink
CAMELS-
CR2met
ChilestationsPR
TMAX
TMIN
1979-2016pointdailyLinkLink
CAMELS-
CR2met
ChilegriddedPR
TMAX
TMIN
1979-20180.05degdailyLinkLink
CAMELS-
CHIRPS
ChilegriddedPR1981-20160.05degdailyLinkLink
CAMELS-
MSWEP
ChilegriddedPR1979-20160.25degdailyLinkLink
CAMELS-
TMPA
ChilegriddedPR1998-20160.25degdailyLinkLink
IDEAMColombiastationsPR pointdailyLinkLink
SENAMHIPerugriddedPR
TMAX
TMIN
1981-20170.1degdailyLinkLink
NCEIGlobalstations    Link 
TRMM
3B42 V7.0
Lat
60°N-S
griddedPR2000-present0.25 deg3hrlyLinkLink
GPM-
IMERG V06
Lat
90°N-S
griddedPR2000-present0.1 deg30 min, 3hrs, 1 day, 3 days, 7 days, 1moLinkLink

 *many of the websites are in Spanish or Portuguese and need registration

Connecting Mountain Hydroclimate Through the American Cordilleras

In preparation for the ANDEX RHP, a series of research articles was published in a special issue in Frontiers on the topic of "Connecting Mountain Hydroclimate Through the American Cordilleras". 

https://www.frontiersin.org/research-topics/9969/connecting-mountain-hydroclimate-through-the-american-cordilleras#articles

A Proposed Regional Hydroclimate Project for the United States

This is an NCAR lead effort to establish a GEWEX Regional Hydroclimate Project over the United States. More information can be found in an article that by Schneider and van Oevelen published in GEWEX News Vol. 30, No. 2 | Quarter 2, 2020

https://www.gewex.org/gewex-content/files_mf/1590612006May2020.pdf